Home Mythology Buddhism The Fourteen Dalai Lamas
The Fourteen Dalai Lamas
Enjoying reading this book?

The Fourteen Dalai Lamas

by Glenn H. Mullin
4.1 out of 5
Author Glenn H. Mullin
Publisher Jaico Publishing House
Synopsis For almost six centuries, the Dalai Lamas have stood as the principal spiritual leaders of Central Asia, and have held secular power over Tibet for almost half that time. They have served as gurus to the Mongolian Khans and Chinese emperors alike, as well as to the masses of peoples inhabiting the numerous kingdoms of Central Asia. Author Glenn Mullin vividly brings to life the sacred mythology associated with the Dalai Lama. He captures the spiritual and political history of this remarkable personage. The Fourteenth Dalai Lama, winner of the Nobel Peace Prize in 1989, is now almost a household name around the world. However, the ancient tradition of reincarnation to which he is heir, is less well-known. The First Dalai Lama was born in a nomadic hut in 1391, and each subsequent Dalai Lama is regarded as his reincarnation, choosing to take up the burdens of a human life again and again in order to benefit the world.

Enjoying reading this book?
Binding: PaperBack
About the author
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Jaico Publishing House
  • Pages: 576
  • Binding: PaperBack
  • ISBN: 9788179929445
  • Category: Buddhism
  • Related Category: Other
Share this book Twitter Facebook

Suggested Reads
Suggested Reads
Books from this publisher
Hindu Gods & Goddesses by Stephen Knapp
Abraham Lincoln by Philip L. Ostergard
Revolution 2020 (Marathi) by Chetan Bhagat
2 States (Tamil) by Chetan Bhagat
The Art of Strategy by Ian Wilson
Midnights with the Mystic by Sadhguru
Books from this publisher
Related Books
The Secrets of Tantric Buddhism Thomas Cleary
Buddhist India Rediscovered Aruna Deshpande
Buddha & Love Lama Ole Nydahl
Ocean Of Wisdom The Dalai Lama
Happiness Thich Nhat Hanh
Buddha Mind, Buddha Body Thich Nhat Hanh
Related Books
Stay Connected