Aamer Hussein Aamer Hussein was born in Karachi, Pakistan, in 1955, and moved to London in 1970. He is the author of five collections of short stories: Mirror to the Sun (1993), This Other Salt (1999), Turquoise (2002), Cactus Town: Selected Stories (2003) and Insomnia and Other Stories (2007). He is also the editor of Kahani: Short Stories by Pakistani Women (2005) and the author of the novella Another Gulmohur Tree (2009).